Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 9th, 2008

Okay, I’ve calmed down, a little bit. This photo helped.

Shineun in Spring wristwarmers

This is Shineun. Shineun recently bought these special order wristwarmers from me at Dahlila. It took us awhile to pick the right yarn (nothing itchy) and get the right color, but together we did it. She sent me this photo in return, which is great because I was in such a hurry to make them I forgot to shoot them.

Now, ISN’T SHE THE SWEETEST THING EVER! She looks like a little forest fairy. (That’s way more fun to yell about than smokers; more productive too.)

Thank you for the photo Shineun. It’s simply wonderful!

d.

Read Full Post »

I HATE SMOKERS!!!!

There. I said it outloud, and I’m not taking it back. My neighbors chain smoke and it wafts over the fence into my home. Come spring when I want to open windows and doors, I am inundated. It disgusts me. It makes wheeze, choke and consider moving, even though I love my little home and most of my neighborhood. Sigh.

What is it with smokers? The more concrete medical information we receive the nastier the invasion gets. Their denial is injuring my–your, our–health. What fuckers!!

If they want to kill themselves, go for it, just don’t kill me in the process.

I think smokers should be banned to an indoor island, no open windows, where they can suck the life out of themselves and get it over with. (Actually, this kind of all ready exists. It’s called the DMV’s main office. It’s about 8 blocks from here. And you should SEE the smokers surround that place at break time. Yuck.)

I know this sounds like it’s coming out of left field, but it isn’t. Just this morning, several smokers sat near me at the cafe. I can’t wait ’til smoking is illegal in outdoor cafes too. I live in CA and it’s quickly becoming illegal everywhere else. Bravo. However,  I can’t say it’s being inforced. It is illegal in city parks, but whose going to walk up to that guy/gal and say put it out. (I did that once inside a bookstore in the 80s and the guy put it out on his tongue. I think he was trying to make a point, but “idiot” is the only point that I got.

Okay, I’ll get off my soap box for a minute, but ONLY FOR A MINUTE! 😉

d.

Read Full Post »